GHHS joins the Lake Erie League (LEL)

The Lake Erie League (LEL) consisting of Bedford High School, Cleveland Hts. High School, Lorain High School, Maple Hts. High School, Shaw High School and Warrensville Hts. High School has invited and accepted both Garfield Hts. High School and Shaker Hts. High School to join the Lake Erie League.  Garfield Hts. being independent is able to join in the winter of the 2019-2020 school year.  Shaker Hts. will join in the fall of the 2020-2021 school year or sooner.  All middle schools associated with Garfield Hts. and Shaker Hts. have also been invited and accepted to join the league in the fall of the 2020-2021 school year.  With the addition of Garfield Hts. and Shaker Hts. the LEL will now have an 8-team league.

The schools in the LEL are comparable in both demographics and geography.  Sports offered during the fall season at the high school level will be football, volleyball, boys and girls soccer, boys and girls cross country and golf.  During the winter season the LEL will recognize boys and girls basketball, wrestling, and will potentially have a bowling tournament.  The spring season will feature baseball, softball and boys and girls track and field.  With the exception of golf, Garfield Hts. fields a team in every sport the LEL recognizes. 

Officially joining the LEL and not simply playing LEL teams gives our student athletes the opportunity to earn all-conference recognition as individuals and compete for conference championships as a team.   This is an invaluable experience to bring a team, school district and community together to compete for a championship against neighboring communities.  We will now have this opportunity through the LEL conference.  Outside of athletics our students can now attend and participate in conference sponsored musical events, art shows, leadership events and other seminars that organized through the LEL.

See below for the history of the Lake Erie League which is one of the oldest leagues in the state of Ohio having formed in 1923.


  • Bedford Bearcats (1998-Present)
  • Cleveland Heights Tigers (1928-Present)
  • Lorain Titans (2010- Present)
  • Maple Heights Mustangs (1998- Present)
  • Shaw Cardinals (1928- Present)
  • Warrensville Heights Tigers (1993- Present, [Football 1993-2014, 2016- Present])
  • Lutheran East Falcons (2017-2019) – leaving the LEL at the end of 2019
  • Garfield Heights Bulldogs (1968-2007, to Northeast Ohio [Football 1968-86, 1993-2007], Independent 2015-2019) – entering the LEL in the winter of 2019.
  • Shaker Heights Red Raiders (1923-2012, to Northeast Ohio 2012-2015, to Greater Cleveland Conference 2015-2020) – entering the LEL in 2020.


  • Elyria Pioneers (1923–54, to Buckeye Conference. 1997-2003, to Pioneer)
  • Lakewood Rangers (1923-2007, to Northeast Ohio)
  • Lorain Steelmen (1923–54, to Buckeye Conference)
  • Rocky River Pirates (1923–37, to Southwestern)
  • Parma Redmen (1951-2003, to Pioneer)
  • Brush Arcs (1962–75, to Greater Cleveland)
  • Valley Forge Patriots (1962-2003, to Pioneer)
  • Normandy Invaders (1968-2003, to Pioneer)
  • Berea Braves (1975–79, to Pioneer)
  • Midpark Meteors (1975–79, to Pioneer)
  • Mentor Cardinals (1993-2011, to Northeast Ohio)
  • Euclid Panthers (1998-2015, to Greater Cleveland)
  • Admiral King Admirals (2002–10, consolidated into Lorain High)
  • Southview Saints (2002–10, consolidated into Lorain High)
  • Warren G. Harding Raiders (2010-2013, to All-American, football through 2014 season)

The Lake Erie League split into 2 divisions (Lake and Erie) in 1993 through 2011.



Admiral King (2002-06)

Admiral King (2006-10)

Cleveland Heights (1993-2011)

Bedford (1998-2011)

Elyria (1997-2003)

Garfield Heights (1993-2007)

Euclid (1998-2011)

Lorain (2010-11)

Lakewood (1993-2007)

Maple Heights (1998-2006, 2010-11)

Maple Heights (2006-10)

Normandy (1993-2003)

Mentor (1993-2011)

Parma (1993-2003)

Shaker Heights (1997-2011)

Shaker Heights (1993-97)

Shaw (1993-97)

Shaw (1997-2011)

Southview (2002-03)

Southview (2003-10)

Valley Forge (1993-2002)

Valley Forge (2002-03)

Warren Harding (2010-11)

Warrensville Heights (1993-2011)

Print This Article
© 2019. Garfield Heights City Schools. All Rights Reserved.